Each IB subject is assessed on a scale of 1 – 7 with a score of 4 considered a “passing grade”. This score is calculated based on a combination of internal and external assessments throughout the 11th and 12th grade years.

    IB Grade Scale
    7 - Excellent
    6 - Very Good
    5 - Good
    4 - Satisfactory
    3 - Mediocre
    2 - Poor
    1 - Very Poor

    (The information below is from the Handbook of Procedures for the Diploma Programme 2017)

    A total of six subjects must be studied, with a combination of standard and higher levels (SL and HL). Students must also complete the “core”, which is made up of creativity, activity, service (CAS), theory of knowledge (TOK) and extended essay (EE).

    Each subject is graded 1–7, with 7 being the highest grade. These grades are also used as points (that is, 7 points for a grade 7, and so on) in determining if the diploma can be award.
    TOK and the EE are graded A–E, with A being the highest grade. These two grades are then combined in the diploma points matrix to contribute between 0 and 3 points to the total. CAS is not assessed but must be completed in order to pass the diploma. See section A7.7.
    The overall maximum points from subject grades and TOK/EE is therefore 45 ((6 × 7) + 3). The minimum threshold for completing the programme is 24 points, below which the diploma is not awarded.
    The additional requirements are the following:
    • CAS requirements have been met.
    • There is no “N” awarded for TOK, the EE or for a contributing subject.
    • There is no grade E awarded for TOK and/or the EE.
    • There is no grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.
    • There are no more than two grade 2s awarded (HL or SL).
    • There are no more than three grade 3s or below awarded (HL or SL).
    • The candidate has gained 12 points or more on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four HL subjects, the three highest grades count).
    • The candidate has gained 9 points or more on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).
    • The candidate has not received a penalty for academic misconduct from the Final Award Committee.


    • Students must study six subjects, plus TOK, EE and CAS. They must accumulate no less than 24 points from assessment in these subjects in addition to grade stipulations.
    • They must meet all of the additional requirements listed above.
    • They must do so within a maximum of three examination sessions.
    • Candidates who successfully meet these conditions will be awarded the diploma.
    • Candidates who take the diploma in multiple languages may be eligible for a bilingual diploma.

    For more detailed information regarding how IB diplomas are awarded click here.
If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.